QUINCY, Ill. – Quincy University hosted its annual End-of-the-Year Reception for faculty and staff on May 5 for the 2021-2022 academic year. The following annual awards were presented at the event.

Franciscan Service Awards:

Staff – Joe Bordewick

Faculty – Nora Baldner

Part-Time Faculty – Nancy Geissler

Franciscan Hospitality Award:

Kort Finley

Excellence in Teaching Award:

Judy Abbott

Faculty Promotions:


Dr. Matthew Bates – Full Professor of Theology

Dr. Jonathan Miles – Full Professor of Philosophy

Tenure & Promotion:

Dr. Dana Walker – Associate Professor of Business


Years of Service:

The following employees were recognized for their years of service to QU.

5 Years:

Karen Rabe

Susan Grant

Dr. Abdallah Talafha

David Ball

Dr. Julia Auch

Matt Schissel

Mark Strieker

Blaine Hill


10 Years:

Matt Bergman

Sam Lathrop

Gary Bass

Bill Machold

Jennifer Breeden


15 Years:

Debby Seifert

Dr. Justin Coffey


25 Years:

Donna Sohn

Julie Budine


35 Years:

Dr. David Kirchhofer



Donna Sohn – 26 years

Founded in 1860 by Franciscan friars, Quincy University is a small Catholic university emphasizing the sciences, liberal arts and the professions. Quincy University offers undergraduate, graduate and adult education programs integrating practical experience and Franciscan values. Faculty and advisors work with students to design customized success plans to help them graduate on time, find their passion and prepare them for life. QU is a member of NCAA Division II for intercollegiate athletics. For more information, please visit www.quincy.edu or contact the Office of Community Relations at (217) 228-5275 or communityrelations@quincy.edu. Quincy University. Success by Design.