Five high school seniors have been awarded a 2017 Quincy University Presidential Scholarship. To qualify for the prestigious four-year, full-tuition scholarship the students attained a minimum ACT score of 27 and a high school grade point average of 3.2 or higher. Presidential Scholarship recipients are Dayanara Abernathy from Quincy, Ill.; DeAndra Bowen of Rantoul, Ill.; Amy Luley of St. Louis, MO.; Elise Pasley of Dixon, Ill.; and Stephanie Reynolds of Quincy, Ill.

“Quincy University’s tradition of academic excellence has continued to grow stronger, with the number of Honors Program students increasing more than four-fold in the last nine years.  The Presidential Scholarship is a special expression of that excellence, and we are delighted to recognize next year’s awardees,” said Dr. Robert Gervasi, QU President.

Out of a pool of 32 applicants from three states, the selection process was held on the QU campus on February 11, 2017.   The two-part selection process includes a timed, written essay and personal interviews with QU faculty. Additional activities included campus and program tours, panel discussions and presentations for parents by QU Administrators.