Quincy University hosted its 152nd Commencement ceremony on Sunday, May 17 in Quincy University’s Pepsi Arena. The 2015 graduating class is comprised of 295 undergraduates with an additional 72 receiving graduate degrees.

Quincy Universities 152 Commencement Ceremony Details

The procession was led by University Marshal Robert Mejer (Distinguished Professor of Art) and Assistant Marshals Dr. David Kirchhofer and Dr. Scott Luaders (professors of physics and chemistry, respectively). Dr. Ann Behrens, Vice President for Academic Affairs, convened the ceremony and Vice President for Mission and Ministry, Fr. John Doctor delivered the invocation. Senior choir members Rachel Anderson, Linda Bellamy, Sara Belmont, Emily Freier, and Kristen Summers performed the Star Spangled Banner and university Alma Mater.

Julie Holdener and Michael Sennett address the graduates at Quincy University’s Commencement 2015


Graduates elected senior representative Julie Holdener to deliver the program’s welcome address. Holdener is a political science major and active member of Quincy University’s Campus Ministry program having orchestrated ten mission trips, in eight states, with 100 students participating to complete over 2,500 service hours for this academic school year alone. Julie received the 2014 Student Laureate award from then-governor Pat Quinn and is also a member of Haiti Connection and QU’s award-winning Mock Trial team with which she received five Outstanding Attorney Awards. Julie is the daughter of Robert and Katie Von Holdener of Belleville, Illinois.

Alumnus Michael Sennett delivered this year’s commencement address. Sennett is a 1973 graduate of Quincy College where he earned a degree in English with minors in history and philosophy. He went onto graduate school at Northwestern University and law school at Chicago’s Loyola University. Sennett is currently a partner of Antitrust and Trade Regulation with the Chicago office of the global law firm Jones Day. He joined Quincy University’s Board of Trustees in 2006 and is currently in his third and final term.